Isla Sorna: Field Journal Part 3

(This blog is not for profit. All copyrighted images belong to their respective owners and are used for review. New to the blog? Start on the introduction.)

https://whendinosaursruledthemind.wordpress.com/2014/08/18/introduction-remember-dinosaurs-theyre-different-now/

Sorry for the wait, guys.

July 22, 2004, 11:12 PM

I know I should be sleeping, but I can’t. I ‘m too busy contemplating what I should do next. I can’t wait for him on this beach forever, it’s really no safer here than anywhere else on the island. But what if his trip has merely been delayed, and all I have to do is wait a few more days? That would probably be the safest course of action. The less time I stay in that jungle the better. I just hope that none of the creatures decided to leave their forest habitat and meet me on the shoreline. 

Tomorrow, I must make a plan of action. I only have a week’s worth of food and water, and I must ration it as best as I can. I’m not sure how long I will survive once they run out.

July 23, 2004, 10:33 AM

For some reason, I feel compelled to write down every little thing I do, even if the event doesn’t really hold any scientific merit. This journal was originally just for notes on my observations, but it has quickly become much more than that. I feel writing down my thoughts may be the only way I keep some resemblance of normality and structure in this predicament I have found myself in. It may be the thing that keeps me sane. 

I awoke this morning and gathered all the survival implements I have left. I have my compass, a machete, binoculars, a camera, a sound recorder, plus several bags of dried food and canisters of water. 

And then there was my gun. I almost forgot I had it. I have never been very prolific with a gun, but some part of me felt that this expedition would warrant it’s use. However, the more I looked at it, the more pitiful the weapon looked to me. It was a simple pistol, the only weapon I could really afford. But what was a pistol going to do against the animals that live on this island. Would I hope to take down bear, a rhino or an elephant with this thing? How much more useless would it be against an attacking Tyrannosaurus rex? I’m better protecting myself with the machete!

But still, a weapon is a weapon, and I’m better off with something over nothing. I figured I would take it easy today; staying on the beach and not venturing out into the wilderness. I don’t want to burn too many calories. I won’t eat breakfast or lunch today; I will instead wait for the evening to eat. I need to save the food for the days I really need it. 

July 23, 2004, 8:00 PM

As I ate my rations for this evening, I began to contemplate the things I might have to do if I were to run out. All the food I brought is dried and ready to eat; dried fruits, nuts, dried meats, and vegetables. I haven’t had to create a fire yet, since I haven’t had to cook any food and the nights here were too warm to warrant making one. But what about signaling? The light of a fire should carry far into the darkness, and perhaps catch someone’s attention. What about if I run out of food and have to find something on the island to cook? Will I be able to do so? I do have a fire starter, which is basically a flint rod that sparks when you strike it with something sharp, but there is barely any wet tinder on this island to catch. Under ideal conditions it’s still a pain in the neck to make a fire.

On an unrelated note, I have been noticing some rustling in the foliage at the edge of the shoreline. Every time I hear it I brace and expect the worst, but the movement is too small to be anything significant. Well, at least not a large carnivore. Perhaps it’s just birds or rats scurrying around. If it’s a dinosaur it can only be the Compsognathus I continue to see every once and a while, and they don’t appear to be of any threat. That being said, I still feel like they are following me for a reason, perhaps for nothing more than sheer animalistic curiosity. 

July 24, 2004, 7:30 AM

This morning I have awoken to disaster. Before sunrise I was disturbed by the sound of rustling by my camp. When I finally rose up I discovered a flock of the Compsognathus raiding my food and water rations. I instantly ran towards them, yelling and flailing like a mad man. The creatures were surprisingly resilient, and weren’t willing to leave the area so quickly. A couple even hissed back at me as I tried to scare them off. They did eventually flee, but not before completely destroying my stock. All food was either eaten, stolen, or inedible, and even my water canisters were punctured and spilled. The creatures took all I had to live on. I literally have nothing left. 

So, the question now is what am I to do? Loosing all my food is one thing, the human body can last a surprisingly long time without it. But water is another issue entirely. Most people say that a person can’t last more than a week without hydration, but I have heard of extreme situations where a survivor went for quite a bit longer without fluids. However, that time without water certainly wasn’t pleasant for them, and I know it won’t be for me. 

The rational side of my mind seems to be telling me two things; I can’t survive without water but it is suicide to return to the interior of the island. However, an even more primal urge seems to put the need of subsistence above the need of self preservation. I’m not starving yet, but it won’t be long until the lack of water really takes a toll on my body. So, the only choice I have is to venture back into the jungle to find more resources. 

 And yet, it still seems like a beyond stupid decision. 

 

11 thoughts on “Isla Sorna: Field Journal Part 3

  1. Wow man, Awesome work! I can’t wait to see what happens next, although I think its about to get really interesting! 🙂

    Like

  2. The main character in this story actually reminds me of Dr. Richard Levine from ” The Lost World” (the book, not the movie) except a lot less crazy and obsessed.

    Like

  3. I haven’t seen the movie in awhile, but I’m actually in the middle of re-reading the book. From what I remember of the movie, the only character that might come close to Dr. Levine in personality is that dude with the glasses that gets eaten by the baby T.rex at the end.

    Like

  4. I just realized that we were talking about different books. I was talking about the sequel to Jurassic Park.

    Like

  5. 1. Can’t you use the compys as a food source?
    2. Due to the genetic diversity, like female to male sex changes, isn’t it possible for some feathers to, redevelop on featherless dinosaurs?

    Like

    1. 1. If you can catch one.
      2. Probably, but this story takes place only a couple years after Jurassic Park 3, and featherless dinosaurs would probably still be around. That’s one reason why I didn’t set the story in the present.

      Like

Leave a Reply

