Isla Sorna: Field Journal Part 2

(This blog is not for profit. All copyrighted images belong to their respective owners and are used for review. New to the blog? Start on the introduction.)

https://whendinosaursruledthemind.wordpress.com/2014/08/18/introduction-remember-dinosaurs-theyre-different-now/

July 21st, 2004, 10:33 AM

It didn’t take me to long this time to run into more dinosaurs. As the days went by, the Compsognathus have seem to become more numerous. I’m always catching a glimpse of them out of the corner of my eyes, listening to them scamper through the underbrush and hearing their sharp, bird like chirping sounds. It almost seems like they are following me around. I can’t possibly understand why they are doing that. Perhaps they are picking off the insects that fly and scurry away as I walk through the forest floor. I’m not sure, but it’s certainly getting strange.

Thankfully, the Compies weren’t the only dinosaur I’ve run into so far. While trekking through the forest I stumbled upon a herd of Ankylosaurus. It was a small herd, numbering about three or four individuals. They didn’t seem to notice my presence, and just continued foraging as I took pictures of them. They were beautiful creatures, if not a bit smelly. It seemed like they didn’t even care that I was their, my presence barely seemed to register to them. Perhaps these creatures have never seen a human before, or their interaction with them was so long ago that they have forgotten. Maybe they just didn’t see me as a threat, knowing they could simply swing their tail once at me and it would end my life. How pitifully weak I felt in the world of these creatures. I almost feel like the tiny mammals that once shared their world with the dinosaur; small, minuscule, insignificant, and barely even worth any notice. 

Or for the predators, an easy meal.

July 21st, 2004, 1:30 PM

I had once again entered the clearing, hoping to find more dinosaurs. At first, however, it seemed completely barren of life. All the animals that once congregated there the last few days have seemed to have moved on. No giant sauropods, no herds of hadrosaurs, and no prides of tyrannosaurs. At first I was a little disappointed, but I realized it was a good opportunity to actually explore the clearing itself instead of waiting by the treeline so not to disturb the animals.

I went up to the river bank that I saw the hadrosaurs and sauropods gather around, and the area was covered in signs in their presence. The vegetation was trampled, and footprints of all kinds were imprinted in the mud. By studying them I could easily tell which animals have been here the last few days. Hadrosaur tracks were abundant, as were large sauropod tracks, probably from the brachiosaurs. Some of the tracks were a bit stranger. They were more rounded than the others, and may have belonged to a Triceratops or Ankylosaurus. Many smaller bird-like tracks also littered the mud, perhaps from small theropods or ornithopods. One track really stood out to me, however. It only had two toe marks. My first thought was that it was the strangest footprint I had ever seen, and it took me a moment to identify it. Then it hit me, it was obviously the footprint of a dromaeosaur. One of their foot claws was always raised up, leaving behind a unique footprint. But the print was much larger than any known dromaeosaur would leave. Perhaps a Utahraptor? Even then it’s a little too big. I didn’t take long for me to get my answer, however.

As I ventured back towards the forest, I noticed some dinosaurs began returning. I noticed some brachiosaurs foraging along the treeline, and two Corythosaurs wandered into the field. It was strange not to see them in a big herd. They almost looked vulnerable.

Suddenly, the hadrosaurs began to panic. They sensed something that I couldn’t, and suddenly a horrible sense of fear washed over me. The two hadrosaurs began to scatter, and that was when they emerged.

 

Out of the forest ran out two man sized dinosaurs, obviously theropods. They ganged up on the hadrosaur, jumping on it’s back and ripping into it’s hide with their huge talons. The side of the poor creature ran red with blood, and ripped flesh hung from it’s side. Suddenly, a third dinosaur emerged from the forest and attacked the neck of the corythosaur. It wasn’t long until the poor beast finally collapsed. 

The animal layed flat on the ground, still groaning in pain. It was still alive, but that didn’t seem to matter to the predators. They went up to the creatures belly, and slashed it open. I saw the intestines spill out. I think they must have punctured the stomach as well, as green globs of half digested foliage were also visible. Despite my distance, I could still catch a whiff of that horrible stench. The predators began ripping into the flesh, tearing out chinks of meat and organs. I continued to observe them eating, watching them as they engorged themselves, even as the hadrosaur was still alive. It took a good five minutes before the poor creature finally stopped breathing. Just thinking about it makes me sick.

While the creatures fed, they made strange grunting and crackling sounds. The sounds were unlike any animal alive today. It didn’t take me long to realize that these were the sounds I heard the other night, those awful unnatural sounds.

They dinosaurs were finally standing still enough for me to properly identify them. The large, upright talons on their feet immediately gave away what they were. These were dromaeosaurs, the infamous pack hunting raptors. Yet, the also weren’t. The way these creatures looked fit how we thought of them in the 1980’s, but not how we see them in modern science. Although detractors remain, the common modern consensus is that dromaeosaurs were covered in feathers. These weren’t actual dinosaurs, they were caricatures of dinosaurs based on what we though of them yesteryear. 

Was this what Dr. Grant meant by genetic manipulation. He’s always saying how the dinosaurs at Jurassic Park aren’t the real thing. Is this what they did. Did Ingen create dinosaurs based on what we wanted to see rather than what they actually were. Of course, these dinosaurs were being cloned as far back as the 80’s. when we thought all dinosaurs were scaly. If they actually created a feathered raptor, they may have wrote it off as a mistake and sought to fix the problem, resulting in these reptilian versions before me. 

July 21st, 2004, 8:57 PM

Despite my initial plan to go deeper into the island, I have since lost conviction to do so. My ride home will be hear tomorrow morning, and remaining on the shoreline is certainly the best option. 

I’ve suddenly started thinking whether this whole expedition was a futile endeavor. Is anything on this island real? I thought I would be seeing real dinosaurs here, but I fear this whole time I’ve been observing nothing more than monsters. These creatures can’t possibly be the real thing. All I’ve observed, all I’ve recorded, is it nothing more than a lie? A bad joke? 

Oh well, I’ll be heading home tomorrow with nothing really lost in the end. I may just owe Dr. Grant and aoplogy, however. 

July 22, 2004, 1:14 PM

It is now afternoon, and I am still waiting on this bloody shoreline. My ride off of this damned island was supposed to be hear five hours ago. I can’t stand on this beach forever. Where can he be?!

July 22, 2004, 7:25 PM

The sun is setting, and soon I will have to start thinking about setting up camp. What could have possibly happened to him? Did he run with the money? That would be foolish, since I only paid him half of his asking price upfront. Perhaps that was enough? Did he get caught by the increased security around these islands? Has he been captured, Is he even alive? I can’t stay on this island forever. I only have enough supplies for a week at best. What am I going to do?

I’m stuck here, aren’t I? 

15 thoughts on “Isla Sorna: Field Journal Part 2

  1. Two big thumbs up! I liked it, it’s not perfect (maybe it’s a matter of personal style) but it gets intriguing and interesting. Just a personal opinion, I think that it would be cool if there was some psychological stuff (like voices on his head, effects of isolation, fear and hunger, visions, dreams that mix with reality) just to make it different from other dinosaur stories (That way he could even have a conversation with Alan Grant on the island). But as I said, it’s a personal opinion and you are free to create your own story the way you like it. And so far it’s pretty good!

    Like

  2. Also, it’s the first time I hear/read of an Ankylosaurus herd, I’ve always seen them all by themselves. Maybe you already wrote about this but if you didn’t (and if you could) a “dinosaurs-herds-myths” entry would be cool 🙂

    Like

  3. I love this! The plot thickens! The end was so suspenseful, I really want to read more!

    This might sound weird, but I love how you described how truly disgusting and viscerally terrifying a raptor attack is. In movies like JP, they show that raptors are SO BIG and SO SCARY and that you should FEAR THEM, but one attacks… and they pan away to a snake. They don’t quite show what would happen to someone if a raptor caught them and therefore why these animals are so terrifying. When someone shows the gory details of what a villain can do, it sort of raises the stakes, you know? Anyway, keep up the good work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

