Jurassic World News: Indominus Rex

(This blog is not for profit. All copyrighted images belong to their respective owners and are used for review. New to the blog? Start on the introduction.)

https://whendinosaursruledthemind.wordpress.com/2014/08/18/introduction-remember-dinosaurs-theyre-different-now/

Before I begin, I would like to let you know that WordPress it telling me this is my 50th post on the site, so if you want to celebrate for me that’s OK.

But personally, I won’t celebrate until I officially post my When Dinosaurs Ruled The Mind #50, so you’ll have to wait until then.

Anyway, this quick little post is about that mysterious dinosaur that’s slated to appear in Jurassic World, the long awaited sequel to the Jurassic Park franchise. That’s right, we’re talking about the D-Rex.

Now, in case you don’t know, the Diablous Rex is a genetically altered dinosaur with the size of a Tyrannosaurus, the intelligence of a Velociraptor, the camouflage abilities of a cuttlefish, and the unhinged jaws of a snake. It was created to attract new visitors to the park, which has experienced a decline in attendees.

Since the moment the creature was announced, it’s been officially referred to as the Diablous Rex, or the D-Rex. So to much a fan’s surprise, it has been leaked revealed that the name has been officially changed to Indominus Rex, or the I-Rex presumably (hmm, doesn’t have the same ring).

So, what would possibly warrant a name change this late in the production of this movie? Was it because the name ‘Diablous Rex’ was leaked and they wanted a new name to surprise the audience? Did the old name not test well? Was it a decision from the head of the studio, the director, or something completely different. I’m not sure, but it does seem pretty strange. Was there already a lot of footage shot with that name used? Are they going to have to do a lot of re shoots just to accommodate? Or is the creature even given a name at all in the film and the names D-Rex and I-Rex were created only for marketing purposes? You’re guess is as good as mine.

But really, the big question is how this thing is going to look. The marketing has been very quiet on the appearance of this beast, obviously saving it for the film’s premiere. Speculation has run rampant online, with some very odd interpretations of how they think the dinosaur might look like.

Some where quite, creative.

We’ve gotten some blurry images and even a LEGO tie in link, so soon we got a slightly better idea of what the creature would look like. It basically looks like a white colored allosaur type dinosaur, nothing really outlandish (to many a fan’s relief). So some of the more recent speculative artwork was much closer to the real thing.

(Disclaimer: Some of the above artwork may or may not have been leaked concept art. I’m going to assume they are actually just fan creations though; you can’t trust anything on the internet.)

But it would seem we finally have a good look at the I-Rex. Lady’s and Gentlemen, here you go.

Hooray for illegal leaks!

Oh God, there is no respect for ownership on the internet.

Like I should talk.

As you can see, the creature looks like a fairly normal dinosaur, although I’m sure some of it’s ‘quirks’ will be revealed in the film proper. Personally, I really dig the design. It even has quill like feathers on it’s arms, which is a nice touch.

I think I also would like to mention the pterosaurs on the product. The Pteranodon looks a little wonky, but I’m sure it won’t look so disproportionate in the film. However, what really catches my eyes on are the Dimorphodon.

I knew that Dimorphodon were confirmed to exist in the park, but I wasn’t sure if they would appear in the film itself. I think this is confirmation they will have a role in the film (I hope they aren’t portrayed as flying piranhas like those Anurognathus in Primeval).

I will go on record and say I’m disappointed in the design, as they look like really old school depictions of the creature that make me kind of sick.

 

No, that’s not creepy at all.

So, what do you think of the Indominus Rex? Is it a cool name; a cool design? What about the Dimorphodon’s?

OK, back to our regularly scheduled reviews. Join me next time as I take on the educational web cartoon I’m A Dinosaur.

2 thoughts on “Jurassic World News: Indominus Rex

Leave a Reply

